On the Road to Rouen: Photos

Admittedly, this post has nothing to do with the 18th century.  It does, however, have travel photos of Rouen that include pastoral scenes, pockmarked buildings, fruit stalls, one pissing boy foundation, and Gothic churches aplenty.  Plus, the Tour de France ends in Rouen today.  Need any more convincing?  (I hope not cause I’m not giving any!)

En route from Paris

In town

Rouen Cathedral

Joan of Arc memorial

Église St. Maclou

I’m in the process of researching the Mad Monks of Medmenham and the Dilettanti Society. This means that those of you hungering for lascivious 18th century tales of ritualistic sex, scandal, and art will soon get your fix.  You have been warned.

8 thoughts on “On the Road to Rouen: Photos

  1. Hi Susan,
    An absolutely brilliant blog. I also adore anything from the 18th century from Art to Costume to Antiques. I love any antique item with a story to tell, good or bad. I am constantly being educated by the antique items that I buy. I gues that is why I love antiques. But for me the 18th century was a period of huge change, lots of wars, lots of inventions, lots of discovery and emancipation for women. Certainly upper class women. Keep up the good work.

    1. Thanks, Victoria, and welcome to the blog. I have the antique bug as well but I’m afraid 18th century antiques are a bit out of my price range! But I love them anyway. The Enlightenment and social turmoil, especially in the later years, produced some amazing art and artifacts. I’m with you 100% there. And the antiques feel especially special given their context. It’s great that people are starting to appreciate the period again.

  2. Love the statue of what looks like a cherub peeing. Do cherubs have bodily functions? Perhaps not, so maybe it’s not a cherub… Anyway, when I see such things gracing the side of what I assume is suposed to be a pace of reverance such as a cathedral, I always wonder about the thought processes of those who decided that was an acceptable adornment.

    To the modern mind, it implies a sense of humor, but I suspect they might have seen it differently.

    1. Unless it’s a nod to the manneken pis (brussels’ peeing boy) the Rouen statue is curious. Perhaps the ecclesiastical atmosphere felt oppressive and the boy lessened the gravitas? It made me smile because it’s such a naughty boy thing to do, peeing in a fountain.

      Regarding historical perception, I can imagine more people did their business in the street before convenient toilets so maybe it was humorous then as well as now? Hard to say.

      Wiki, as useless as it sometimes is, has various legends behind the Brussels statue, all of the interesting. Might be worth a look:
      http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manneken_Pis

  3. I thought the peeing statue looks like a woman’s figure with the breasts chiseled off and a … pig’s face? where the head should be. Kind of creepy.

    I have a blog comprised of mostly Regency Era fashion plates, quite a few Georgian Era fashion plates, and a miscellany of other fashion prints, including scans from an old book “The Art of Perfume” illustrated by Georges Barbier. Not much writing, mostly scans.
    http://athousandpix.blogspot.com/

    1. Your perspective on the boy is funny, but, upon a second look, I can’t fault the analysis. He’s been chiseled away by the elements and, indeed, one can imagine a bit of a piggy face. He also has a long torso, rather too long for a boy, which is why you might have thought of him having breasts. If that were the case, it would certainly be an disconcerting statue to stumble across!

      Thanks for the heads up on your blog. Wonderful images. I can’t get enough of fashion scans.

Leave a Reply

