Vive La France!

With the Oh-La-La French Historical Challenge!

Oh, yes, readers.  More books. 

This morning while enjoying hot chocolate and reading blogs, I stumbled upon a most tempting idea at Enchanted by Josephine.  I’m psyched about this challenge because A: the French monarchy was replete with lovely, scandalous queens; B: the country has survived such fascinating socio-political climates as the Reign of Terror (aka The Revolution), the Napoleonic Empire, and the bloody  St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacre; and C: if I can for one moment imagine myself in a Loire Valley Chateau, preferably Chenenceau, drinking chocolat chaud and eating brioche, life is good.

So here’s what I’m thinking:

Mistress of the Revolution – Catherine Delors (Bargain price of Amazon!)

To Dance with Kings – Rosalind Laker

La Reine Margot – Alexandre Dumas

Marie Antoinette – Antonia Fraser

A Scented Palace: A Secret History of Marie Antoinette’s Perfumer -Elisabeth de Feydeau

Courtesan – Diane Haeger

The Serpent and the Moon: Two Rivals for the Love of a Renaissance King – Princess Michael of Kent

The Devil’s Queen: A Novel of Catherine de Medici – Jeanne Kalogridis

Cause really, who isn’t curious about how Medici became this austere looking?  She looks like Dracula’s bride.

Want to get in on the fun? (Oh, I’m such a geek!)  Enchanted by Jospehine has the instructions to join.  I’m aiming for  La Reine ou L’Imperatrice.

2 thoughts on “Vive La France!

  1. Hey I’m so glad you’re on board!!! It looks like I might be reading some of the same ones as you..but I’m just picking as I go along:)

    Please also post my button on your sidebar AND in your post;) Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

